Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J. Maas

timthumb.php

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA (May 5, 2015)
  • ISBN-10: 1619634449
  • ISBN-13: 978-1619634442
  • Fantasy – Adults – New Adults

 

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! ~Goodreads

I ran into the store, clutching my umbrella and dipping my head low in an attempt to avoid the rain. Safe, away from the angry sky, I lifted my head and found Sarah J. Maas’ new adult fantasy romance, A Court of Thorns and Roses. It was destiny, just like the journey laid out for its sassy, dutiful and rebellious protagonist.

In this retelling of Beauty and the Beast, our protagonist marches forward in her journey, taking the reins of her destiny, breaking a curse that should never have existed. The protagonist’s loyalty to her family and her selflessness all lead to one of her biggest sacrifices. Family and loyalty are themes that support the underlying base of the story that informs the protagonist’s personality.

Sarah J. Maas is a skilled writer, and her writing is lively and colorful, filled with beautiful descriptions. Ms. Maas is also an amazing world builder, which is evidenced by A Court of Thorns and Roses and the Throne of Glass series.

I thought the story starts out slow and a little bloody, but it picks up steadily with each chapter, building onto the main character’s world and personality. It also wouldn’t be a Sarah J. Maas book without some angst and warfare. There are also some bloody scenes towards the end of the book, some which I confess to skipping. I’m a little squeamish about blood or cruelty in scenes, whether it’s in books or films.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed reading this book. It made for an enjoyable Saturday at home. I am looking forward to the second installment, A Court of Mist and Fury, which will be out on May 3, 2016. I have pre-ordered my copy, and there might be a book giveaway for this series coming soon. Stay tuned.

I would recommend this book to fans of the Throne of Glass series, the Game of Thrones series, and the Remnant Chronicles.

Let me know what you think, and thanks for reading!

Best, Sophie

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s